WordPress.com site

In the General Search Competencies I can safely say that I am pretty competent in the key components and concepts of research topics. I do struggle with truncation, Boolean searches, and limits but other than that I do fairly well searching for information. I get carried away doing our reference sources with wiki. I plan to have them done in the next day or so. I enjoy the challenge of finding the sources but I know resource people, who are skilled in data base searches, are much more efficient than I am. I am planning to use time this summer learning a lot more about searching and practicing it.
As far as my competency using Online Catalog I am O.K., but learning more all the time. I know how to connect on the patron mode but the library catalog in the staff mode will be something new for me since I have never worked in a library. That includes all aspects of using the computer in the staff mode. I am very proficient with the computer in regards to printing, emailing, saving, & downloading. I can cut and paste, like a pro but the public searching and staff mode searching I fall short. REAL SHORT. I would be very discouraged about now, but as I look at the list of competencies that I should know and see what I have learned in the past couple of years. I know I will be able to learn each thing as it comes. I have not taken any classes in school that have taught most of that stuff. I assume that I will also learn a lot whenever I start working.

<script type=’text/javascript’ src=’http://www.f-secure.com/links/worldmap.js’></script&gt;

Leave a comment